IN this short video Lee announces what's new in the latest round of updates to the You ID Me Emergency Medical ID and Contact Alert System...
Some ID profiles will soon be deleted from You ID Me.
It’s been almost six years since the last major update to You ID Me when we upgraded the service allowing users more control over their emergency ID profile.
If your ID profile predates March 2016, you should read this important notification.
If you didn’t respond to emails sent to you back in 2016 inviting you to migrate to our new service, your profile still remains on the original server and, has not been updated in over five years. There may be the odd exception to this - please read FAQ below.
We’re rolling out the next major upgrade to the You ID Me service very soon and we'll delete any profile that hasn’t been logged into / updated since March 2016 or earlier.
Though you won't receive any further notification about this you may choose to take action to have your ID number migrated to our new service. If you wish to do this please see the frequently asked questions below.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why is this being done?
You ID Me has grown and evolved since it was created. It has many thousands of active users continuing to increase daily.
Your emergency ID profile is considered outdated; it has been hosted without being updated for more than five years. You don’t have the facility to update your profile and we no longer offer to update emergency ID profiles on behalf of customers.
Will my emergency ID profile be deleted?
Receiving this email indicates that your emergency ID profile predates March 2016 and/or hasn’t been updated for over five years, and therefore will be deleted with the 2021 update.
You may double-check to satisfy yourself whether your ID profile will be deleted by following the instructions below.
How do I double-check if my ID profile will be deleted?
When your emergency ID profile is shown look at your browser’s location / address bar (the URL)
If the URL does not contain the word 'users' like this example:
https://www.you-id.me/xxxxxxxxxxxx.html (where xxxxxxxxxxxx is your ID number) this means that your ID is on the old service and will be deleted with the new 2021 update.
If the URL does contain the word 'users' is like this example:
https://users.you-id.me/xxxxxxxxxxxx.html (where xxxxxxxxxxxx is your ID number) this means that your ID is on our current server and will not be deleted with the new 2021 update.
My ID is due to be deleted but I still want it. What do I do?
Your profile will be deleted with the new update. You may apply to have your current ID number added to the new service and enjoy all latest functionality by selecting one of the options below. There is a charge for doing so.
How do I apply?
There is an admin fee of £10 for your ID number to be added to the new service. This admin fee is being wavered for those signing up to You ID Me Platinum Annual Plan which - currently £12 per year by direct debit.
What happens if I don't apply to have my ID migrated?
In all cases your ID profile will be deleted, so if you do not apply to have your ID number included with the 2021 update then you'll simply no longer have an emergency ID profile with You ID Me once your profile has been deleted.
I want to keep my profile but I need to update it
You'll need to apply for us to add your existing ID number to the new service. See How do I apply? above for details. If your application is accepted you'll need to re-activate your ID number on the new service when prompted.
When will profiles be deleted?
Profiles will be deleted on or shortly after 1st August 2021.
We're a small team working extremely hard to ensure that carrying ID is secure, easy and affordable for our customers.